top of page

fourth of july - julia vu

they say you were made from hand-spun

daydreams and bottled up electricity, that

your smile made the skies blush twilight, that

stars fell for the wonders in your eyes so

sanguine they glowed hickory. i saw my

future flash in a field of snow fallen

silent. but you

rue the night

our lips met


in the backseat of your best friend’s corvette

under the cover of the silver-twined clouds.

we ignited like fireworks, a scathing whirlwind

romance turned inferno; my sunshine, i

didn’t know i was so flammable. i had

never fallen lovesick, i had only ever fallen

moonstruck,

fallen so hard for the ones i love that i

cease to function. we watched my body

disappear in clouds of smoke and sparks,

before you left me to deal with the

ashes and phenylethylamine of

what was once

forever?

Recent Posts

See All

You don't know me - Mehek Azra

In 2017, I left my childhood behind, I had to leave the land of traditions and culture and start a new life in America. But it was hard. Harder than I thought It was like sleeping in a bed full of ros

An Oasis - Tanvi Nagar

She pictured the forests- She heard the moonlit darkness call Inside the darkness, she felt She would have solitude and calm. So she walked into the jungle A little light was all she had The trees loo

the sweet scented lilies, soup, and music

a poem by Tanvi Nagar The sweet scented lilies, soup and music I We strung together the sweet scented lilac lilies with perfection and laced the low hanging air of despair with your magical melodies.

bottom of page